JOIN
Hero

Act Now!

On February 8, the CT General Assembly convenes for their next legislative session. Reach out to your elected representatives today so they know about what artists and arts workers in our region need to thrive.

 

NOT SURE WHAT TO SAY TO YOUR LEGISLATORS?
Here are a few ideas!

Untitled design (12)-2GET PERSONAL Share a story about the power of creativity in your life, particularly during the ups and downs of the COVID-19 pandemic

HEAL + REBUILD Explain how centering culture helps communities process impact and loss and supports inclusive and equitable development

COVID IMPACT Our region is still emerging from the economic fallout of this pandemic with many artists and arts workers struggling to thrive 

INVITATIONS Encourage them to attend an upcoming in-person or virtual event you are organizing to deepen their understanding of our creative ecosystem

Contact Information

Listed by town with name, email, political party, and district number

 

BETHANY

Jorge Cabrera   jorge.cabrera@cga.ct.gov D 17 Senate 
Lezlye Zupkus Lezlye.Zupkus@housegop.ct.gov R 89 Representative 

 

BRANFORD

Christine Cohen  cohen@senatedems.ct.gov D 12 Senate 

Robin E. Comey Robin.Comey@cga.ct.gov D 102 Representtive 

Sean Scanlon Sean.Scanlon@cga.ct.gov D 98 Representative 

 

CHESHIRE

Mary Abrams abrams@senatedems.ct.gov D 13 Senate 
Rob Sampson rob.sampson@cga.ct.gov R 16
Craig Fishbein craig.fishbein@housegop.ct.gov R 90         
Lezlye Zupkus Lezlye.Zupkus@housegop.ct.gov R 89
Liz Linehan Liz.Linehan@cga.ct.gov D 103

 

EAST HAVEN

Paul Cicarella  paul.cicarella@cga.ct.gov R 34 Senate 
Joe Zullo Joe.Zullo@housegop.ct.gov R 99
Roland Lemar Roland.Lemar@cga.ct.gov D 96 

 

GUILFORD

Christine Cohen  cohen@senatedems.ct.gov D 12 Senate 
Sean Scanlon Sean.Scanlon@cga.ct.gov D 98
Vincent Candelora Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov R 86

 

HAMDEN

Martin Looney Looney@senatedems.ct.gov D 11 Senate Leadership 
Jorge Cabrera  jorge.cabrera@cga.ct.gov D 17 Senate 
Joshua Elliott Josh.Elliott@cga.ct.gov D 88
Michael D'Agostino michael.dagostino@cga.ct.gov D 91
Robyn Porter Robyn.Porter@cga.ct.gov D 94

 

MADISON

Christine Cohen cohen@senatedems.ct.gov D 12
John-Michael Parker johnmichael.parker@cga.ct.gov D 101 

 

MERIDEN

Mary Abrams abrams@senatedems.ct.go D 13 Senate 
Catherine Abercrombie Catherine.Abercrombie@cga.ct.gov D 83 
Hilda Santiago Hilda.Santiago@cga.ct.gov D 84
Michael Quinn  Michael.quinn@cga.ct.gov D 82  

 

MILFORD

James Maroney maroney@senatedems.ct.gov D 14  Senate 

Charles Ferraro Charles.Ferraro@housegop.ct.gov R 117      
Frank Smith frank.smith@cga.ct.gov D 118 
Kathleen Kennedy Kathy.Kennedy@housegop.ct.gov R 119 

 

NEW HAVEN

Gary Winfield http://www.senatedems.ct.gov/winfield-contact  D 10      Senate 
Martin Looney Looney@senatedems.ct.gov D 11 Senate Leadership 
Alphonse Paolillo Alphonse.Paolillo@cga.ct.gov D 97 
Juan Candelaria Juan.Candelaria@cga.ct.gov D 95
Treneé McGee treneé.mcgee@cga.ct.gov D 116 
Patricia Dillon Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov D 92
Robyn Porter Robyn.Porter@cga.ct.gov D 94
Roland Lemar Roland.Lemar@cga.ct.gov D 96
Toni Walker Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov D 93

 

NORTH BRANFORD

Christine Cohen  cohen@senatedems.ct.gov D 12 Senate 
Vincent Candelora Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov R 86

 

NORTH HAVEN

Martin Looney Looney@senatedems.ct.gov D 11 Senate Leadership
Paul Cicarella  paul.cicarella@cga.ct.gov R 34 

David Yaccarino Dave.Yaccarino@housegop.ct.gov R 87

 

ORANGE

James Maroney maroney@senatedems.ct.gov D 14 Senate 
Charles Ferraro Charles.Ferraro@housegop.ct.gov R 117 
Kathleen Kennedy Kathy.Kennedy@housegop.ct.gov R 119
Mary Welander  mary.welander@cga.ct.gov D 114 

 

WALLINGFORD

Vincent Candelora Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov R 86

Paul Cicarella  paul.cicarella@cga.ct.gov R 34
Craig Fishbein craig.fishbein@housegop.ct.gov R 90
Liz Linehan Liz.Linehan@cga.ct.gov D 103
Mary Mushinsky Mary.Mushinsky@cga.ct.gov D 85

 

WEST HAVEN

Gary Winfield  http://www.senatedems.ct.gov/winfield-contact  D 10 Senate 
James Maroney maroney@senatedems.ct.gov D 14 Senate 
Charles Ferraro Charles.Ferraro@housegop.ct.gov R 117 
Dorinda Borer Dorinda.Borer@cga.ct.gov D 115
Treneé McGee treneé.mcgee@cga.ct.gov D 116 

 

WOODBRIDGE

James Maroney maroney@senatedems.ct.gov D 14 Senate 
Jorge Cabrera jorge.cabrera@cga.ct.gov D 17 Senate  
Mary Welander  mary.welander@cga.ct.gov D 114

 

KEEP UP TO DATE WITH OUR LEGISLATORS 
  • February: Session gavels in, public hearings begin
  • March: First committees reach deadlines to report out bills
  • April: Budget committee deadlines arrive, floor debates begin
  • May: Session ends, parties nominate candidates at conventions
  • June: Candidates petitioning to primary reach filing deadline
  • July: Candidates file Q2 campaign finance reports
  • August: Primaries
  • September: General election campaign unofficially kicks off
  • October: Candidates debate, file Q3 campaign finance reports
  • November 8: Election Day
Pre-Session Legislative Roundtable

In partnership with the New Haven Pride Center,  the Arts Council organized a conversation between elected representatives and our creative community. From funding to access, quality of life to justice, the conversation was at moments deep and lighthearted. Watch the full video, including the fantastic closing performance celebrating drag artists, here.

 

 

 

Get Involved

Become a member of the Arts Council - it's free! - to receive regular advocacy alerts.

Join Today ... it's free!

1% for Arts + Culture Campaign

1% for arts + cultureRecently, the Arts Council sent this letter to the leaders of our cities and towns to commit 1% of their American Rescue Plan grant into arts and culture. The federal guidelines specifically prioritize our industry for support, but we also highlight the power of artists and creative organizations to help our region recover and revive.

But now they must hear directly from you!

Find out how much support your city or town will receive from the American Rescue Plan and contact the head of your city or town to ask them to invest 1% of this grant into arts and culture. Share the graphic on social media to spread the word in your networks. Always include a personal story about why this investment is important to you or your community. 

Check out this map from CT Arts Alliance for details on how cities and towns across CT are responding to this request.

 

GRANT AMOUNTS

Note: Our focus is on general funding, not the education support

 

CONTACT INFORMATION

Resources

Make your case with these tools, research reports, and news stories.

General

Economic Growth

Health + Wellness

Livelong Learning

Social Justice

Vibrant Communities

Have a question? We've got answers!